My Experience of Bournemouth Nightlife

I have read previously that “Bournemouth’s nightlife is incredible” – so, last night my brother and I decided to go out in Bournemouth. Compared to where I go out (usually Hereford or Worcester) Bournemouth had a whole host of bars and clubs so I can imagine regular nights out there would be far from boring.

My brother and I started off our night at Aruba where we purchased some very tasty cocktails, however it was getting a bit expensive to stay there and we still had the whole night ahead of us so we headed to a somewhere we knew would be gentle on our cards: Whetherspoons.

P1060964

P1060961

The Whetherspoons was unlike what I am used to and instead of the place being full of students every one was middle-aged. This didn’t stop us and we purchased a cocktail jug each (purple rain and cheeky V). Feeling tipsy immediately afterwards we headed to Slug and Lettuce, it was a lot smaller than I expected and the dance floor didn’t look very inviting – we got one drink and left shortly afterwards.

The Slug and Lettuce bouncer was very friendly and she helped us decide where to go next! She told us everyone goes to somewhere called ‘Vodka Revolutions’ and ‘Walkabout’ – unfortunately because my brother (who is 21 by the way) left his wallet at home we couldn’t get past the bouncers to test out those places.

We ended up in Yates’s which was probably the cheapest place we’d been all night and we stayed there until about 1am, the smoking area was very large and had thankfully many heaters the only problem I had there was that one of the female bar staff decided to shoulder barge me every-time she passed me (honestly have no idea what I had done wrong there).

Once Yates’s started to empty we went to a nightclub called Taboo, it was very small but the music was great and the staff were friendly. We stayed there until around 4am then hobbled back to our hotel…

We both enjoyed our night and I recommend you try Bournemouth for a night out.